mia and cabbage

sorry i have been mia. i have been sick, then my step-mom’s dad passed away suddenly. it was a week that included a funeral, our first ARD, and hours of noseblowing. i think i am back in the saddle, even though i seem to have lost the hearing in my right ear, my sunglasses, and my mind.

20110416-081138.jpg

my handy helper

there is a family dinner tonight at the tp ranch, my assignment: cole slaw. i am trying a new recipe from cook’s illustrated for sweet and tangy, using a vinaigrette instead of mayo.

it calls for letting the cabbage sit for three hours (salted and sugared) to remove extra liquid. that is where i am now.

20110416-081527.jpg

After it is drained i will add 1/2 cup cider vinegar, 4 T oil, 1/2 t celery seed, chopped parsley and salt and pepper to taste.

full review later!

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in cooking and food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to mia and cabbage

  1. donnahuebsch says:

    Sorry to hear it’s been a rough week – hope you feel better soon! That cole slaw looks fabulous! Cook’s Illustrated has the best recipes.

  2. Sorry it has been such a rough week. I hope all that has been lost is found including the mind!!!

  3. barb19 says:

    Sorry to hear of your bad week, and hope all that was lost is found!
    The coleslaw sounds delish – let us know the results when made and tasted.

  4. Hi
    I am sorry to hear of your sad loss this week it must have been very difficult for you.

    Coleslaw…I also add grated carrot, raisins, apple and grated onion…hmmm delicious!
    PiP

  5. eof737 says:

    Phew! What a week… extending my sympathies and wishes for a speedy recovery… Sorry about your loss and I do hope you get well soon.
    Eliz

  6. kaet says:

    Be well and I hope the coleslaw went well!

Leave a Reply

