to dye, or not to dye

i am one of those lucky ladies who deals with premature gray.  of course i go back and forth between caring and not giving a flip. i am not going to lie, part of me gets VERY put out when people ask if my sons are my grandsons.

another part of me wants to do something fun and wacky, since for the first time i don’t have an employer to rain on my haircolor parade.  i found this lovely young lady —-> on the web and LOVE her hair.  of course anything would look cute on a 18 year old fair skinned pixie child.  not sure this would look as good on a 42 year old.

i think i have spent too much time lately lusting over waldorf dolls, who often have the coolest hair ever, composed of various hand spun and hand painted yarns.

i mean, who wouldn’t want that cool hair?? and this one is tame compared to some of the beautiful heads of hair out there!

so, to dye or not to dye,  should i do it myself or seek out a pro?

i will leave you with a cartoon from my favorite, baby blues.  and if you want to see the doll pictured above, please go here.

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in navel gazing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to to dye, or not to dye

  1. I understand the pain you get from people thinking you are the Granny and not the Mum, Craig went grey at 27 so he is often mistaken for the boys’ grandfather. I don’t dye my hair simply because of the number of poisons that are in them…wigs?!!

  2. barb19 says:

    I started going grey years ago and have dyed my hair ever since. However, it has gone from grey to white which is nicer, but I’m still not prepared not to dye it – yet! I suppose the day will come where I think “what the heck” and just let it grow out, so until then . . . 🙂
    If it makes you feel better, then go for it!

  3. I dye my hair simply for the fun of it, or out of boredom; I can’t remember what my natural color looks like 😉

  4. eof737 says:

    That photo-shopped picture is priceless… Don’t go crazy with the color! 🙂
    Eliz

  5. ashknits says:

    i love crazy colors! you should go for it 🙂 (this is coming from someone who has had every color in the raibow, and given the choice would always have purple hair)

  6. I have a dear friend in her 50’s who did Crayola red, and it totally worked for her. I also recently saw a woman in her late 60’s who had wide, hot-pink highlights all through her shoulder-length silver hair. It was awesome. I say do what moves you. I’m naturally dark blond and I get highlights. Haven’t had the money to do it since September. I’m kinda digging the fact that the top half of my hair is this ashy grey color now. But oh, yeah, I’m coloring it next month for sure!

Leave a Reply

