Art journaling

I gleefully unwrapped a new blank book last week to kick off my art journal resolution.  I am a sucker for journals, and I have all sizes, shapes, and paper types.  I thought this one would be perfect, but when I tried to watercolor my illustration, my pages warped and wrinkled, and the color bled through.
I can’t decide whether to continue in this book, or switch to a book with thicker pages.  I have let this quandary, plus my inability to locate my prismacolors, keep me from moving forward.  Well, that and an extremely difficult few weeks of  kid behavior.

How do you keep yourself on task when life feels unbearably hard?

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Art journaling

  1. Veronica Roth says:

    Yikes! I once bought a journal for a 30 day project that I was determined would take watercolours. The paper was very poor and needed a very light hand plus some pressing after the journal was finished. But then, I paint on odd ephemera all the time, and so have managed to find ways. You can probably see all the tricks on my website in the tutorial page, but what I would suggest is to glue every two pages together to make a stronger page for your watercolours.

  2. anitashree says:

    I honestly don’t know..I sometimes go into my head and day dream…or sleep…self imposed naps to run away from the world for some time.

  3. Merillion says:

    get your journal at the art supply store, and check that it takes watercolor, or pastel, or oil, etc. They have all kinds.
    As far as life feeling unbearably hard, remember we’re all in this life together, & going through the same shit! That helps me. I was also thinking of getting an F-it necklace -they make me laugh whenever I see them. Get this in 24K gold, of course! 🙂

  4. Merillion says:

    P.S. I like your art, too. And the colors.

Leave a Reply

