Mail art

20140504-132707.jpg

I’ve been trying to spark my creative work by participating in a mail art group. Group administrators post various challenges and group members can sign up and be randomly paired with a swap partner. I recently joined a postcard swap. The challenge was to use a textile on the card. I put off getting started, I was trying to come up with a good idea. This morning I just jumped in and started sewing.

Oh my gosh! I feel like I discovered a new medium! I LOVE what I made and I can’t wait to do more! I can’t wait to figure out what other things I can make with this technique!

20140504-132839.jpg

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in craft projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mail art

  1. That is just so very adorably cool – you just may be onto something!
    AnnMarie

  2. swo8 says:

    What creativity. There seems to be no end to the things you can do!
    Leslie

  3. NotAPunkRocker says:

    How cool!

  4. My girl friend in college spent a summer in the Middle East. We communicated via beautifully painted air mail envelopes/letters. That was a great many years ago. At the end of the summer she showed a faculty person the letters. The envelopes ended up on display in the gallery! Greta fun!~

  5. hakea says:

    love those owls!

    fabulous work

  6. redtail2013 says:

    You rock Laura! I love that. Looks like one of your watercolors. What fun.

  7. Well done. Would you mind sharing the information for the postcard swap?

    • phrogmom says:

      i am in a mail art group on facebook. if you seach for artful mail groupies you should find it, but i am not certain they are accepting new members right now.

      • I asked, as I work for an art reference library that has put out a call for mail art. It’s the first project of this kind that we’ve done. If you’d like the information, then let me know or check out our Facebook page: Post Mail Art Projekt. …Here’s my address if you or anyone you know want to swap mail art:

        Jill / lady von halbach
        PO Box 461, Joplin, MO 64802

        Good day!

      • phrogmom says:

        Ooooo! How cool! I would love to be involved! Is it ok if I share the link to your FB page in the group?

Leave a Reply

