twisted mixtape # 43, lifted up

this week’s mix tape assignment is to make a mix for a friend who is feeling down.  i have to admit to being of two minds about this.  pick perky songs that can’t help but get the feet tapping and lift the spirits?  or choose more serious songs that don’t distract, but remind us that we aren’t alone in our hard times?

i guess i will start with the serious and end on an upbeat note?  when i am having a hard day, or feeling emotional.  this is a song that always resonates with me.  i know this might be a strange choice (given the lyrics) coming from someone who isn’t religious, but nonetheless… let it be.

the next song is one of the most powerful that i know.  when i was in high school i used to try to balance the way i felt outside with the way i felt inside.  unfortunately i spent a lot of time feeling miserable, and this manifested itself in some cutting (another topic for another day) and sometimes in sitting outside and letting my tears hide in the rain.  this song is the audio equivalent of that memory for me.  i can’t listen to it without getting chills.

this is a song that i remember being sung as a child, probably by my amazing grandfather.  he used to sing to us at bedtime when we were together and it is one of my fondest memories.  i sing it to my kids now.  extra bonus points that it is being sung by the man in black.

and finally, a song i have been listening to a lot in the car lately, because it is one of the squirm’s current faves.  i have to admit that listening to it has improved my general car attitude.

so that is it for this installment!  the kids are home from school today because of the icy weather, so i am off to keep them entertained.  enjoy and don’t forget to check out the original site here, and play along if you can!

 

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in twisted mixtape and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to twisted mixtape # 43, lifted up

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Good ones!

    I think I may play tomorrow 🙂

  2. Yes! to “You are my Sunshine”.
    I see what you did with this. A solemn-sounding song can still have an uplifting message.

  3. Dream says:

    The more I hear that Pharrell song, the more I like it. Great mix.

  4. Jen says:

    You know I’ve got to stick that Pharrell song on a mix on my iPod, second shout out, and I’m digging it!
    Also, I like how you went from pulling yourself out of a bad place, it was a great way to make this mix just for you.

  5. Pingback: Al'Chaddas ft. Solid Star - DADADO - AceWorldTEAM.com

Leave a Reply

