to do list for 2014, #1

this prompt emerged somewhere in the haze of nablopomo, and while i didn’t tackle it at the time, i have been thinking about it quite a bit.  i thought maybe if i posted it a little a time, it wouldn’t be quite so overwhelming (or daunting).

1.  do more drawing.  i have gotten really computer dependent lately, and rarely put pen to paper.  i miss it, and i don’t want to get out of the habit of drawing, or even writing things longhand.  one of my interests is illustrated letters, both current and historical.  so while i enjoy looking at letters by others, i would like to spend more time in 2014 embellishing my own letters and envelopes and sending them.

i want to share a blog that really inspires me to draw scenes from my daily life.  doodlemum posts a drawing on her blog every day, and they are amazing.  i hope she won’t mind if i share one with you here.

i also want to make more room in my life for meditative drawing (rather than product driven drawing i guess?).  something like zentangling or art journaling.  i know i often have trouble starting art endeavors because i worry it won’t be any good.  i need to free myself from these thoughts and just draw.  i find that zentangling frees me up a little, since i am focusing more on the individual patterns than the end product.

i  found some amazing mandalas on the heartsongs blog that would provide an opportunity for meditative art making.  she recommends that those who download her free mandalas  “close their eyes, place their hands on the paper and state or think of an intention such as finding some calm, wanting to release any anger or any other intention you have in mind.”  you can click the title of her blog above to find the mandalas and more suggestions on how to use them.  

if you do download a mandala and color it, i hope you will share your picture with me here!  i know i plan to do one!

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to to do list for 2014, #1

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Good idea! I had a few of the coloring books they have at the craft stores that are more decor/grownup.

    I like the mandala idea too…will have to check those out 🙂

  2. shreejacob says:

    Oh thank you so much for the shout out! I’m glad you enjoyed the mandala enough to do your own or colour them. In fact, starting with colouring a mandala is an awesome way to get over this feeling that your art isn’t good enough…that’s how I started too though must warn you it isn’t the magic pill 😛 I certainly still have moments when I scrunch up my face “pooh pooh-ing” at stuff I create! LOL.

    You should display your art work here…and you know…the responses may surprise you 🙂

  3. Pingback: new years resolutions, part 2 | Phrogmom's Weblog

  4. Carla says:

    I have the same problem getting started on drawing projects! I’m with @notapunkrocker, I found some adult coloring books that I will be playing with in the new year. I think it will really help inspire new color combinations and keep me from overthinking. Happy doodling!

Leave a Reply

