Crunch

20120721-113751.jpgmy big get fit plan hasn’t been off to the fastest start, but i am chipping away at it.  i have given up all but the occasional soda (which for me is HUGE).  i am focusing on eating better and getting more exercise.  i even bought some stevia to try in my iced tea and coffee (probably my biggest sugar intake items at this point).

i have been hugely inspired by a local lady who is participating in the heb get fit challenge.  she (and the other contestants) have been sharing healthy eating tips and ideas for fitness.  since heb sponsors the challenge, and they are our local food store, a lot of the foods are actually accessible, which is nice!  i made a delicious salad for lunch today using “fully fit” baked chicken chunks and it was amazing!!

i have let feeling under the weather keep me from getting too physical this week, but a new week is coming up and i have two new workout dvd’s in hand!

if you have time, i suggest you visit sheila’s blog and check her out!!

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crunch

  1. hakea says:

    Hi Phroggie

    I don’t want to blitz your bliss because there’s so much information and misinformation about diet and exercise these days, and basically you need to find a way that suits you.

    Something that JJ Virgin says, which makes a lot of sense to me, is your body is not a bank account, it’s a chemistry lab. It’s not as simple as counting calories in and calories out, fat in and fat out. So JJ says (and she has a PhD in nutrition) you need to eat fat to burn fat, but you eat lean and clean fat – a lot of coconut products and protein that is lean. And you get rid of the foods that cause inflammation in your body and encourage your body to store fat around the middle – dairy, yeast, sugar, caffeine, gluten and soy.

    There is so much to it because it is based on science, but it does work. I have lost weight without the workouts, and I have been really gentle and kind to myself. It’s a lifestyle change rather than a war against weight. I didn’t remove gluten, because it has been too difficult for me and I don’t believe I have an immune response to it.

    Keep going – you’ll get there!

  2. phrogmom says:

    very good points! i am totally not counting calories, just trying to add in more veggies, esp at lunchtime where i tend to get rushed and eat badly. i need to find some good ways to get some extra iron as well. i am struggling with anemia but the supplements kill my tummy!

    i’ve cut my caffeine intake way back, but i am definitely not ready to give it up!

    • hakea says:

      I know, I really missed my cup of tea. It was such a ritual for me. But now when I have an occasional cup of tea I don’t enjoy it anymore. I’d rather drink water and the occasional herbal tea now.

      Sometimes when you remove all of the foods that are causing inflammation, the body is better able to absorb nutrients from the foods you are eating. Definitely working with your Doc is best for your situation.

      From what I’ve read, kale is the new superfood. People in the US make kale smoothies for breakfast. It doesn’t sound very appealing to me. It’s probably got a fair amount of iron in it. I bought some seeds to grow it but it’s too cold here at the moment for them to germinate.

  3. Lian says:

    Sounds like quite a challenge, staying away from all the good stuff. Good luck with it though, you can do it! Also, that salad really looks delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

