what i have been reading

i haven’t had much time for reading, it has continued to go a mile a minute around here, but i did manage to get through a couple of book on some sleepless nights.

i hadn’t really indulged in some real sci fi in a while, and it felt alien (teehee) to be back in the world of space ships and interstellar travel.  once i got over my feeling of vertigo, i really enjoyed this book.  greg bear has long been one of my favorite sci fi authors, he always managed to incorporate some big ideas into books, things that leave you thinking long after you turn the last page.

after flying through space, i came crashing to earth with this novel by terri blackstock.  it was ok….and i agree that i should be open to all writers and readers finding their niche….but i was personally a little put off by this heavily christian mystery novel.  no offense to any of my christian readers, it is just not really my thing.  so it was jarring to me every time the characters stopped to pray before dashing off to find the bad guy.

now i am reading this book by mary alice monroe.  i think my mom bought it.  i haven’t gotten very far into it, but so far it has made me want to pick up and run away to the beach!

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to what i have been reading

  1. I have been reading the same book since July…mind you it is huge, but still 🙂

  2. Narelle Smith says:

    Good to see you are keeping busy!

    I’m reading the fourth book in the Eragon series – Inheritance. I read the first three books in days, I found them rivetting. This fourth one though is hard going, it feels like I am waist-deep in mud. It’s still really enjoyable, just slow. I flipped ahead to the back of the book where Christopher Paolini has put his acknowledgements and lo and behold he says that this book was the hardest thing he has ever done, he struggled with it every inch of the way. Bingo!

  3. Pingback: Review: The Qualities of Wood by Mary Vensel White « Books in the Burbs

  4. JM Randolph says:

    I feel like I’ve got nine books going right now, none of which have completely grabbed me. One that did was Daughter of Smoke and Bone, kind of a YA thing that was oh so good. I just finished Margaret Cheney’s biography of Nikola Tesla, and it was super good but did take me some time to finish.

Leave a Reply

