la sirenita muerta

perspective practice

well, my class only has one week left.  it has been kind of exhausting for me to add it in to the already kind of crazy schedule, but i have enjoyed the class, and hanging with my friend shawnty on the drive.

since my getting “discovered” (and by that i mean that some publisher would magically find my blog or my facebook page and contact me, begging for me to illustrate picture books) doesn’t seem imminent, i decided to make my final class project something more immediate.

i have been wanting to make some art for a friend who recently had a baby.  she is a fan of both mermaids, and the day of the dead, so i thought “what would be cuter in a baby’s room than a little dead mermaid?”  one of the ladies in my class felt this was a little macabre, but i know my friend is into this kind of thing, so i pressed on!

i have to say that i am pretty darn excited about the way my sketch came out and i can’t wait to see it finished!  i am going to work on my background during the week, so  mark mitchell can help me with the details in class on monday.  he was already able to help me a lot with some ideas.  i have to credit him with the addition of the ship wreck!

i’ll post pictures as i progress!!

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in craft projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to la sirenita muerta

  1. Lian says:

    You are going to illustrate picture books? That’s so exciting! Great job 🙂 Oh, and I think the mermaid picture is really cool!

  2. cocomino says:

    What an unique illustration! Wonderful job.:smile:

Leave a Reply

