reading in the dark

firstly, did they change my wordpress toolbar? i don’t think i can handle much more disruption in my online routines!  i am way too old for this.

in order to get back into the routine of reading, i had to put my neal stephenson book on hold for the moment.  it was just so dense, i found myself choosing not to read at all, rather than slog through it.  i think it is a book for less busy times.

i turned instead to ‘the queen of patpong.’  i don’t recall purchasing this book, so i couldn’t remember why i had it on my kindle, or what it was going to be about.  i have to say, i really enjoyed it.  to the point that i kept wanting to go check back in with the characters to see what they were up to!  and then sadly realized i had finished the book.  it was part mystery, part action, with exotic flavor from being set in thailand.

when i was searching for an imagine for this post, i discovered that this is actually the fourth book in a series!!  hooray! it also looks kind of like they are making it into a movie.

after returning from my literary journey to the far east, i thought i would try ‘the butterfly’s daughter,’ a book recommended by my mom.  it too is steeped in exotic spices, this time the flavors of mexico.  i haven’t made it too far into the novel, but i am already hooked.  i really reminds me of some of the barbara kinsolver novels, which is a good thing!

what about you readers?  anyone reading anything good?

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to reading in the dark

  1. hakea says:

    Good to see you reading again.

    The butterfly’s daughter intrigues me.

    Not long ago, I finished reading Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy. Trent Reedy was a soldier in Afghanistan. I thought it was supposed to be a children’s book, but I think it’s more for young adults. A heart-breaking and slightly disturbing story about a family in Afghanistan and the effects of the Taliban and subsequent American occupation. Lots of Afghani words, concepts, culture. Hard to forget.

    So, now I’m looking for something else to read. I was tidying up my bookshelves on the weekend and realised that I have lots of books which I have started and not finished. And there’s always the sequels to Shiver and Fallen (hehehe). But I have started again on A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers.

  2. ericavsyeast says:

    I’m trying to read, well actually I’m trying to read a series that I can’t seem to get a handle on. My mother in law suggest The Dark Tower series as I have never read a single Stephen King book. I’m some where in the middle of the first book, the most recent chapter I’m on the third go around trying to get the words I’m reading to sink in, but every morning I wake up and glace at the cover and think “what the heck is going on in this book” but I am determined to finish.
    In the midst of this I’ve read some fluff, oh how I love fluff, but mainly the only thing that is getting read around here is Dr. Seuss and Moo Baa La La La.

Leave a Reply

