marathon of reading

after months and months of doing little or no reading, i feel like i have been devouring book lately like i have been starved!

i am a little embarrassed to say that the book that got me back into reading was the latest in the sookie stackhouse vampire series.  i’ll be the first to admit that these books do not contain award winning writing or universal truths, but wow are they entertaining.  i think this installment was more action packed than the last and i really enjoyed losing myself in it.

i got a little more serious for my next book and read house rules, by jodi picoult.  i chose it because parts of the book are written from the perspective of a teen with aspergers.  it was an interesting read, not exactly mindless and relaxing, as it gave me ample opportunity to worry a little about the future for my boys.

so back to fantasy land i went with the latest in a series by kim harrison.  another series without incredible writing, but the storyline has kept me interested for quite a few books, so i continue the saga as new books are published.  i like the aspect of an imagined future where regular people and supernatural folks live side by side, with full knowledge of each others’ existence.

i switched back to more mainstream fiction with secrets of eden, by chris bohjalian.  it was a tale of domestic abuse and an eventual murder in a small town in vermont.  like the picoult book i mentioned, different parts of the novel are written from the perspective of different characters.  i found it interesting that i liked one of the characters, or at least found him likeable, while reading part 1, from his point of view.  and then that first impression was threatened by the retelling of events by other characters.

i just started this one, broken for you.  my mom and i share a kindle account, and she bought it based on the recommendation from a friend.  since it is the first thing she ever bought, i assume the recommendation was convincing.  after a few pages, i don’t feel an instant hook, but i am going to keep plugging!

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to marathon of reading

  1. hakea says:

    I find it interesting that the books that are not well written have storylines that suck you right in.

    I hadn’t read a novel for many years. I was burnt out from reading lots of stuff at university. Then I picked up one of the Twilight books, and couldn’t put it down. I was so grateful for that book rekindling my interest in reading.

    I’m looking forward to the release of the fourth and final book in the Eragon series by Christopher Paolini in November. I devoured those books too.

    Of your list the Pale Demon one interests me.

    If you want a good cry The Lovely Bones is captivating. I also read The Host by Stephanie Meyer and it took me 80 pages to get into it, but then I was hooked and cried through it too.

    The next lot of books I have my eye on are a series of philosophical books by A C Grayling. Not novels but they look oh so interesting.

    I hope you continue to enjoy your reading.

    • phrogmom says:

      yeah, i got hooked on the twilight series too! shameful 🙂 i loved the lovely bones! i read the second book by that author and it was so different! i have the host but i had trouble getting into it. maybe i should try again! i also have ‘room’ to read.

  2. I follow Kim Harris’s series and also the Sookie books. Loved Pale Demon, haven’t read Dead Reckoning yet. I sometimes feel a little guilty about these (and the Anita Blake series by Laurell K Hamilton) but I balance it out. This year I’m alternating with The Norton Anthology of Literature by women, which is kinda massive, and I am surprised to find so many classic female writers I had never read before and really enjoy.

Leave a Reply

