a sense of self

me, 2.14.11

well, i had grand intentions for a post on self-portraiture today.

it was going to be chock full of interesting art-historical details and inspiring examples of self-portraits by some of my favorite photographers.

unfortunately life intervened, squirticus had no interest in napping, i didn’t get up early enough this morning, and i was feeling somewhat tired and lost my steam.  it is still in the works though.  i thought perhaps i could appease you with some self-portraits i have taken in the past?

me, spring 1992

me and me, fall 1998

it is funny how we get a tad more modest as we age.  i have some full on nudes from my early undergraduate days and when i see them, i think, DANG i wish i still looked like that naked.

of course photographing yourself naked is a rite of passage for photography students everywhere, i don’t know how far it went towards making me more comfortable in my skin.

my more recent self portraits seem to include others.

me & rocket, may 2007

i am sure there are several interpretations for this change, but it is probably due to a reduction in time spent alone with my camera.

me & squirm, july 2008

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in navel gazing, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a sense of self

  1. kloppenmum says:

    That is quite possibly the cutest baby I have ever seen! Ours always looked like gnomes and my husband wanted to prop them in flower pots with fishing rods.

  2. frizztext says:

    I’ve tried to discuss nude photography at
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/erotic-trends/
    because my wife is a professional photographer,
    sometimes nudes too, watch the video there with her work.
    though the video language is German you can watch some
    of her pictures …

  3. eof737 says:

    Very interesting selection of poses… I really liked you with the cat; very cute!
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

