studio in progress

i created this graph to illustrate the personal space available to me throughout my lifetime.  i started confined to the crib, got my own room, then half a dorm room, a room in a shared apartment, followed by a smattering of small apartments all to myself.

when i moved out here i had a WHOLE house!  all to myself!  i had a room i never even went into!  then i met mr perfect and learned to share my space.  then the squirm and the squirticus and all of their stuff….and now, no more safe studio space for phrogmom.

 

i managed to carve out a space for mr perfect in the laundry room.  it isn’t the four seasons, but it is a space.  i tried a couple of things myself.  perching on the kitchen bar, screenprinting in the nursery closet, now my laptop rests on a table in the living room.  since i have resolved to spend more time creatively, either working on projects or working in my art journal,  i have all these loose art supplies.  very tempting to toddlers….

so i put up a shelf, dragged in some tables, and carved myself a little corner in the bedroom.

 

 

 

 

the space allows me to contain my supplies, out of reach of curious hands.  however, i haven’t worked out the kinks as far as getting time to sit there and do work. i am still mostly working in my journal in my lap or at the kitchen table with milo.

but it is a start!  rome wasn’t built in a day right?

 

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in art journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to studio in progress

  1. barb19 says:

    No, Rome wasn’t built in a day but you’re getting there! You’re organizing yourself very well.

  2. Slychikadee says:

    Milo looks so handsome with all that hair! I got your email awhile back. I’ve had no time to blog these days, but I’m glad you are! You’ve always been an inspiring Internet friend of mine! Im glad you have some artsy space, be sure to guard it well 😉 Take care!!!

    Jaime

  3. E.C. says:

    Ah, yes, how to find crafting space can be a venture in itself especially when you have little ones. I think you’ve done a dandy of a job and will make many wonderful artsy and fun thing in your studio space… and best of all, share many smiles and giggles with the wee ones too. 🙂

  4. I loved seeing this… I’m waiting to move into my own special little craft / work / studio / office. At the moment it’s a very small white box, but I’m so excited about it that I go in there now and then just to claim my territory lol

Leave a Reply

