the sand, the sea, the smiths….

today’s blog prompt:  If stranded on a desert island, and could only bring one music album with you, which would it be? What is it about this music that never gets old for you?

during my formative high school years i was melancholy, baby….well, some of the time.  to say it was a tumultuous time emotionally, might be an understatement.  but hell, all of us are victim to hormones, family life and the trauma of high school social politics.

i wish i could scrounge up a picture of me in high school so you could see my nerdy, not at all menacing attempt to be a new wave punk rocker.  if you have seen pictures of me, you know i am covered with freckles….yeah, how goth can a non-makeup wearing girl be with freckles.  i also have an uncanny knack for always looking healthy, no matter how gloomy or angsty i feel.

so i spent hours and hours locked in my room listening to morissey whine full blast on my walkman (teehee). sneaking cigarettes and blowing the smoke out my window.

so why i am so attached to the smiths, after all these years.  i think  morissey’s voice singing to me through the wires made me feel like i wasn’t alone.

“Now I know how Joan of Arc felt , As the flames rose to her roman nose
And her Walkman started to melt”

 

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

