uh oh, a naaaaaake

i don’t talk too much here about milo and his issues with speech, or i guess i should say his issue with lack of speech.  maybe since his diagnosis is so uncertain, i don’t want to brand him by speculating in print?  maybe it is just such a sensitive topic for me that i am afraid to dwell on it long enough to write  a post.

for those of you that don’t know me in real life, my oldest son, who is fast approaching three years old, has been in therapy for about 8 months because of developmental delays.  he also shows some signs of sensory processing disorder (SPD), auditory processing in particular.  we took him to a neurologist this fall, who in addition to ordering some tests to rule out a physical problem, felt he also had some symptoms of high functioning autism spectrum disorder (ASD) or aspergers.

we have had him in ECI for the last 8 months, and in april his care will be handed over to our local school district.  i am nervous about the change, but trying to keep an open mind.  they offer a ppcd program (preschool program for children with disabilities) that is half a day, 5 days a week.

we have also acquired quite a few therapeutic toys, for jumping, swinging and spinning.  all of which he seems to enjoy.  especially the swinging and spinning. (more on the swing in another post)

we have definitely started to see improvement, both in the speech and in the sensitivity to noise.  he is saying more words and repeating more of what we say.  it is still mostly labeling, and doesn’t help in the frustrating area of communication, but it is progress.

because he is doing so well, we decided to actually pursue sending him to the ppcd classroom, even though it is a slightly more restrictive environment.  his current “teachers” aren’t really teachers at all, and seem slightly overwhelmed by the 8 toddlers in their care.  i don’t doubt their good intentions, but i don’t think they are trained to be able to actually work with milo on his communication skills. 

this brings me back around to the title of my post.  milo doesn’t use any 2 word sentences like “milo park” or “more juice.”  but lately a little phrase has cropped up his repertoire.  “uh oh, a naaaaaake.”  (translation: uh oh, a snake!)  has he come across snakes somewhere?  i don’t know, but it is unbelievably cute.

About phrogmom

kind of eccentric artsy type raising two boys in texas.
This entry was posted in attempted parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to uh oh, a naaaaaake

  1. hakea says:

    10 years ago I worked with children with severe Autism. I loved it. Kids with Autism show you a different way of thinking about the world. They would stare for ages at the dust particles shining in the sunlight.

    Anyway, I was able to gain greater understanding of their world, which made me a much more attuned worker, by reading the life stories of Temple Grandin and Donna Williams. You may already be aware of them? They both have Autism and have written about what life is like for them. Donna Williams wrote ‘Someone Somewhere’ and ‘Nobody Nowhere’ and ‘Like colour to the blind’.

    The kids just love swings and trampolines. They could spend the whole day on them.

    I hope that all goes well with your little champion. You are giving him a great start.

  2. I followed a link to your blog from Balzer Designs facebook page! Love your Blue, blue, blue art journaling. My son is 11 and has autism. I just did a post about the different way he sees the world, in an art journaling/scrapbooking sort of way, so thought I’d share. Looking forward to seeing more of your work as the Art Journal Every Day project continues. I’ve not yet felt brave enough to post any of my actual journal pages yet!

  3. lesleehare says:

    My son was diagnosed PDD-NOS at 3 years… Later got re-diagnosed as Autism. He had delayed everything, profound sensory issues (can’t even recall how long the orange-food-only phase lasted…), and other bits I won’t mention in detail since he may read my posts someday [;-)]

    He’s 14 now, making high grades at his level (we held him back one year in kindergarten), eating almost anything he’s offered (as long as it’s not slimy), and even interacting with other kids online (has his own YouTube and Facebook accounts!)…

    Sports… well, we just let that one go…

    I can remember wondering if he would ever learn to read… Now I’m wondering how we’ll pay for college.

    I hope to post about all this before long, but in short I offer encouragement! Have faith in your child and your love for him. I let mine come along at his own pace, and things are really starting to come together. Ask for help when you need it, and respect him always, and things will go well. Try your best to get along with his caregivers and teachers – if they sense that you respect their efforts, they will respect yours [;-)]

    I joke that receiving a diagnosis was a blessing, because as a result my son had a personal assistant for 5 years, lol!

    I’m happy to share, please feel free to let me know if I can help.

Leave a Reply

